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This public document was published at a total cost of $955.00. 50 copies of this public document were published in the first printing at a total cost of $955.00. This document was published by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 2000 
Quail Drive, Baton Rouge, LA to inform Louisiana residents and non-residents as to the rules and regulations governing the fishing resources of the State of Louisiana. This material was printed in accordance with the standards for printing by state 
agencies established pursuant to R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in accordance with the provisions of Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.

This document was last updated in May 
2023. See Title 51, Part IX: LDH regulations: 

(§329. Refrigeration Requirements for 
Shellstock Harvested for Raw Consumption 

during the Months of January through 
December [formerly paragraph 9:052-1]).

This publication is not an official copy of the laws in effect and should not be utilized or relied upon as such.

NONEMay to Oct 5

Hours Until
Refrigeration

Description & Use:
Oysters are intended to be used in

Louisiana ONLY. Sacked, boxed, shucked
or frozen oysters CANNOT leave the

state of Louisiana.
Refrigeration
Air TemperatureAir Temperature

Must be less than or equal to 45°F

Requirements
Before leaving to fish pink tags, fishermen must 
call 800-442-2511 and press ‘0’ for dispatch

            
Internal
Meat Temp.Months

Description & Use:
Oysters are intended to be consumed
raw on the half shell by consumer.

Refrigeration
Air Temperature

Must be less than or equal to 45°F

RequirementsRequirements
        

Months
Internal
Meat Temp.

Hours Until
Refrigeration

10 hrs to 55°F
10 hrs to 55°F
 6 hrs to 55°F

Dec, Jan, Feb
Mar, Apr, Nov
May to Oct

36
8
1

Description & Use:
Oysters must be consumed fully
cooked. For shucking or

Post-Harvest Processing (PHP) ONLY.

Requirements

Refrigeration
Air Temperature

Must be less than or equal to 45°F

Internal
Meat Temp.Months

Hours Until
Refrigeration

Nov to April

May to Oct

 18 hours

12 hours

Can’t ship until
internal temp. is 
50°F or less, 
unless trip is
under 4 hours. 
If temp is not met,
shipment can shipment can 
occur with a time/
temp monitoring
device.


