General

Content tagged with general will appear on the About LDWF Page.

Security Guards Cited for Night Hunting Violations in Terrebonne Parish

Release Date: 01/09/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited three people for alleged night hunting violations in Terrebonne Parish on Jan. 6.

Agents cited Terry Hebert, 51, Clarence Thibodaux, 47, and Lacy Thibodaux, 29, all of Thibodaux, for hunting deer during illegal hours and for hunting from a moving vehicle.  Terry Hebert was also cited for illegal spotlighting from a public roadway.  Clarence Thibodaux was also cited for hunting across a public roadway.

Agents learned about security guards at the Modern American Recycling Services (MARS), located in Gibson, placing bait under street lights to attract deer and hunting them at night.  Agents learned the security guards would either set up on the bait after dark or patrol by vehicle slowly with lights off looking for deer.

Agents set up surveillance in various strategic locations around the baited area and were able to observe night hunting activities take place several nights. Just prior to midnight on Jan. 6, agents made contact with the three subjects when they were actively engaged in night hunting activities.

Agents seized two rifles with scopes.

Hunting deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Hunting from a moving vehicle and hunting across a public roadway each carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail for each offense. The fine for spotlighting from a public road is set by each judicial district accordingly.

Leesville Man Arrested for Night Hunting

Release Date: 01/09/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested a Leesville man for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 21, 2017.

Agents arrested Heriberto Garcia, Jr., 49, for taking deer during illegal hours with artificial light, failing to comply with deer tagging requirements and failing to comply with harvest report requirements.

Agents received a complaint on Dec. 20 about Garcia Jr. possibly hunting at night.  According to the complaint, Garcia would frequently park his truck at his hunting lease gate near Simpson and walk to his deer stand where he would stay several hours after dark.

Agents set up surveillance around 8 p.m. on Dec. 20 and observed that Garcia did not return to his vehicle until nearly 7 a.m. the following morning.  Agents made contact with Garcia and after questioning he admitted to shooting a buck sometime around midnight.  After shooting the deer, he stayed in his stand until daylight to give the impression that he legally harvested the deer in the morning.

He also admitted to shooting a doe during legal shooting hours on Dec. 9 and records show he failed to tag or validate this deer.

Agents then reviewed Garcia’s game camera, which had a video of Garcia shooting at another deer with his crossbow on Dec. 16 at 4:09 a.m.

Agents seized Garcia’s crossbow, bolts and eight point buck.  Garcia was booked into the Vernon Parish Jail.

Taking deer during illegal Hours with artificial light brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging and harvest report requirements each carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.

Garcia may also face civil restitution totaling $2,033 for the replacement value of the illegally taken buck.

Agents Cite Jamestown Man for Deer Tagging and Possession Limit Violations

Release Date: 01/07/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Jamestown man for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 29, 2017 in Bienville Parish.

Agents cited Kevin L. Woodall, 45, for taking over the daily bag limit of antlerless deer and failing to comply with deer tagging requirements.

Agents received a complaint about Woodall harvesting two antlerless deer on the same day.  Agents met up with Woodall for questioning where he confessed to harvesting two antlerless deer during the same day.

He also said he harvested a total of five deer this deer season without validating the harvest or filling out the harvest card.  Agent further revealed that Woodall used an antlered tag on an antlerless deer he harvested.

Hunters are allowed to harvest one antlered and one antlerless deer per day for this area of the state.

Taking over the daily bag limit of deer brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging requirements carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.

Woodall may also face civil restitution totaling $1,624 for the replacement value of the illegally taken antlerless deer that put him over the daily bag limit.

LEEC eNews: Register for 2018 Symposium, Volunteer Opportunities, and More!

Our eNews is linked below. Please share.
Louisiana Environmental Education Commission

LEEC eNews: Register for 2018 Symposium, Volunteer Opportunities, and More!


BUY A PLATE TO EDUCATE

Support the LEEC by purchasing an Environmental Education specialty plate at

www.expresslane.org

 

 

Seven Subjects Cited for Migratory Game Bird Violations

Release Date: 01/05/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited seven subjects for alleged migratory game bird violations in Vermilion Parish.

Agents cited Brian Debarge, 53, of Cameron, Brandon Debarge, 26, of Cameron, Jody Trahan, 37, of Cameron, Allen Romero, 51, of Gueydan, and Timothy Nelton, 55, of Houma, for hunting migratory game birds from a vehicle and from a public road on Dec. 21.  Agents also cited Jeremy Debarge, 32, of Cameron, Lakelyn Rougeau, 21, of Bell City, for the same violations on Dec. 25.

Agents also cited Brian Debarge, Brandon Debarge, Jeremy Debarge, Trahan, Romero and Nelton for possessing over the limit of geese.  Trahan was additionally cited for hunting without a basic hunting license, hunting migratory game birds without the state duck license and the federal duck stamp, and hunting with an unplugged gun.  Nelton was also cited for hunting with an unplugged gun.

Agents received a complaint about subjects shooting geese out of a moving vehicle from a public road on Dec. 21 in Gueydan.  Agents arrived on the scene and observed a vehicle matching the description and the subjects actively hunting for geese.

During questioning the subjects admitted to hunting from a public road for geese.  Agents seized 198 light geese and donated them to a local charity.  Licensed hunters are allowed 20 light geese per day.

Hunting migratory game birds from a vehicle, hunting migratory game birds from a public road, possessing over the limit of geese, and hunting with an unplugged gun each carry a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Hunting for migratory game birds without a basic hunting license, state duck license and federal duck stamp each bring up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.

The subjects may also face civil restitution totaling up to $10,212 for the replacement value of the illegally taken migratory game birds.

Two Men Cited for WMA Violations

Release Date: 01/04/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited two men for alleged Wildlife Management Area (WMA) violations on Dec. 22

Agents cited Adam J. Cochran, 23, of Jarreau, and Patrick J. Chustz, 18, of Lakeland, for violating WMA regulations for failing to check in to the Grassy Lake WMA and for driving a truck on an All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) trail.  Cochran was also cited for criminal damage to state property and violating WMA regulations for rutting a ditch along the road.

Agents received information on Dec. 18 that the High Line Road ATV trail gate lock was cut and the ditches along the trail were rutted up by a truck.  Agents investigated the scene and were able to obtain evidence identifying both of the men involved.

Agents then met with Cochran and Chustz to question them about the damage on Dec. 22.  Cochran admitted to cutting the lock with an ax and stated that he was driving the truck with Chustz as his passenger.

Violating WMA regulations bring a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense.  Criminal damage to state property carries up to a $1,000 fine and six months in jail.  Cochran could also face civil restitution up to $200.

Agenda for the January Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission Meeting

Release Date: 12/29/2017

Note start time is 1:00 PM for this meeting.

The next regular Commission Meeting will be held at 1:00 PM on Thursday, January 4, 2017, at the Wildlife and Fisheries Headquarters Building located at 2000 Quail Drive, Baton Rouge, LA

 

AGENDA

 

1. Call to Order

2. Pledge of Allegiance

3. Roll Call

4. Adoption of December 7, 2017 Commission Meeting Minutes

5. Commission Special Announcements / Personal Privilege

6. Enforcement Report December, 2017 – Captain Edward Skena

7. Consider Notice of Intent for the general and wildlife management area rules and regulations for the 2018-2019 season, the resident game hunting season for the 2018-2020 hunting seasons, the general and wildlife management area rules and regulations for the turkey season, the turkey hunting areas, and seasons, and bag limits for the 2019 turkey season, and the migratory bird seasons, regulations, and bag limits for the 2018-2020 hunting season – Tommy Tuma, Director, Habitat Stewardship and Operations

8. Update on the Feral Hog Management Advisory Task Force – Dr. Kim Tolson, Chairwoman

9. Consider Notice of Intent for feral hog transport rule – Dr. Jim LaCour, DVM, Wildlife Disease Program Manager

10. To Receive a Report on Exempted Fishing Permit (EFP) Application for Red Snapper –Myron Fischer, Fisheries Biologist

11. To receive presentation from the Louisiana Charter Boat Association (LCBA) on the results of our survey of federally-permitted charter captains – Richard Fischer, LCBA Communications Manager

12. To consider authorizing the Chairperson to sign a support letter for the Louisiana Only Amendment for the January Gulf Council meeting – Chairman Courville

13. To consider authorizing the Chairperson to sign a support letter for the Louisiana Habitat Based Exempted Fishing Permit for the January Gulf Council meeting – Chairman Courville

14. Elect Chairman and Vice Chairman

15. Set May 2018 Commission Meeting Date

16. Receive Public Comments

17. Adjournment

To access a live stream of the event, please register for the meeting at:  https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8320202787206143745 

 

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is charged with managing and protecting Louisiana’s abundant natural resources. For more information, visit us at www.wlf.la.gov or www.FishLA.org. To receive recreational or commercial fishing email and text alerts, signup at http://www.wlf.la.gov/signup.

Agents Arrest Gonzales Man for Night Hunting and Possession of Stolen Firearm

Release Date: 12/28/2017

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested a Gonzales man for alleged hunting violations on Dec. 26 in Avoyelles and St. Landry Parishes.

Agents arrested Logan M. Collins, 27, for taking deer during illegal hours, hunting from a public highway, hunting from a moving vehicle, and possessing a stolen 12-gauge shotgun.  Collins was also issued citations from Louisiana State Police for several traffic and vehicle violations.

LDWF agents were called by Louisiana State Police to assist with a traffic stop on Interstate 49 in St. Landry Parish around 1 a.m.  When agents arrived on the scene they found two freshly killed deer in the bed of Collins’ vehicle.

During questioning Collins confessed to killing the deer off of I-49 at night on the Acadiana Conservation Corridor Wildlife Management Area in Avoyelles Parish.  After searching the vehicle, agents found Collins in possession of two pistols, two shotguns and three rifles.   Agents then learned that one of the shotguns was reported stolen from the Lake Charles area in April of 2017.

Agents booked Collins into the St. Landry Parish Jail and then transported and booked him into the Avoyelles Parish Jail.

Agents seized the seven firearms and the two deer.

Taking deer during illegal hours brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Hunting from a moving vehicle carries a $250 to $500 and up to 90 days in jail.  Hunting from a public road brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.  Possession of a stolen firearm carries one to five years in jail.

Collins may also be charged with civil restitution for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer totaling $3,249.

Port Barre Men Cited For Deer Hunting Violations

Release Date: 12/28/2017

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited two Port Barre men for alleged deer hunting violations on Dec. 25.

Agents cited Brandon Bergeron, 27, and Joseph Bergeron, 42, for failing to comply with deer tagging requirements.  Brandon was also cited for possession of an illegally taken deer and hunting without a primitive firearms license.

Agents received information about a nine point buck that was harvested by Brandon on Dec. 15 on the Thistlethwaite Wildlife Management Area (WMA) during primitive firearms season.  Agents then learned that Brandon didn’t possesses a primitive firearms license at the time the nine point buck was harvested.

During questioning Brandon admitted that he had Joseph tag the deer for him.  Agents seized the deer meat and antlers.

Possession of an illegally taken deer brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging requirements brings a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.  Hunting without a primitive firearms license carries up to a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.

The men may also face civil restitution for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer totaling $2,033.

Plaquemines Parish Man Cited For Illegal Fish Sales

Release Date: 12/20/2017

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Plaquemines Parish man for allegedly selling fish illegally via social media on Dec. 19.

Agents cited Corey D. Picquet, 48, of Buras for taking spotted sea trout without a permit, selling fish caught recreationally, selling fish without a commercial fresh products license, taking commercial fish without a commercial gear license and selling game fish.

Agents received information that Picquet was advertising yellowfin tuna for sale on social media without possessing a valid commercial fresh products license.  Agents also found some of Piquet’s social media posts where he was advertising to sell red drum and largemouth bass, which are both game fish species.

Agents then found that Picquet was selling spotted sea trout, which has limited access permits and requires the fisherman to apply for and maintain specialized rod and reel licenses.

Selling spotted sea trout without a permit carries a $900 to $950 and up to 120 days in jail.  Selling game fish brings a $350 to $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.  Selling fish caught recreationally carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Selling fish without a commercial fresh products license and taking commercial fish without a commercial gear license each brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail for each offense.

Picquet may also face commercial and recreational license revocations.

Syndicate content