Licenses

Recreational Offshore Landings Permit

Permit : 
Recreational Offshore Landings Permit
Price: 
No Fee
Description: 

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) developed the Recreational Offshore Landings Permit Program to better quantify and characterize the charter and recreational fishermen that fish beyond Louisiana’s territorial waters.

For more information, visit wlf.la.gov/rolp

Contact: Jason Adriance, (504) 284-2032 or jadriance@wlf.la.gov

Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission Approves Online Application Process for Oyster Harvester Permits in Lake Calcasieu

Release Date: 08/05/2011

August 4, 2011 – Today the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission passed a motion amending the rules by which Oyster Harvester Permits are issued for Lake Calcasieu.  As required by Act 329 of the 2011 Louisiana Legislative Session, anyone seeking to commercially harvest oysters in Lake Calcasieu must have one of 126 special Oyster Harvester Permits issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.  

Of the 126 permits available, 63 will be issued exclusively to eligible fishermen who have historically harvested in Lake Calcasieu since January 1, 2001.  The remaining 63 permits will be issued to any person who is otherwise eligible.

Permits will be valid for a period of one year beginning October 1, of a given year and ending September 30, of the following year.  Applicants are required to hold a current and valid commercial fishing license and oyster harvester license. 

Applications for permits will be available exclusively online on the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries website (www.wlf.louisiana.gov).  Permits will be issued on a first-come-first-serve basis, determined by the order in which completed applications are submitted through the LDWF website.  Online submission is the ONLY acceptable method to submit completed applications. 

Applications will be available beginning Monday, September 26, 2011, at 9 a.m.  Harvesters will be required to reapply on the last Monday of September each year following. 

A completed application consists of the following information:  applicant’s name, physical and mailing address, phone number, commercial license number, oyster harvester license number and personal identification number issued by a state or federal agency (i.e., driver’s license or passport). 

For more information please contact Laura Wooderson at lwooderson@wlf.la.gov or (225)610-2363. 

application/pdf icon Louisiana Shrimp Marketing Survey Report - 2007application/pdf icon Louisiana Shrimp Industry Appendicesapplication/pdf icon Louisiana Shrimp Industryapplication/pdf icon Number of Shrimpers 1989-2007

Statistics

Commercial License Information

Boat Registration Information

Commercial Fishing Licenses

Duplicate Commercial Fishing License

Certified Commercial Fisherman

COMMERCIAL LICENSE FEES
All commercial licenses expire on December 31 each year, unless otherwise noted.

       
  Resident  Non-Resident    
Commercial Fisherman's License $55 $460    
Apprentice $27 $230    
Vessel License (required south of saltwater line) $15 $60    
Mussel Harvester Permit (captain only) $100 $1,000    
Oyster Harvester Permit (captain only) $100 $400    
Oyster Tong (per tong) $30 $240    
Oyster Dredge (per dredge) $25 $200    
Public Oyster Seed Ground Vessel Permit $15 $60    
Shrimp Trawl (per trawl) $25 $100    
Butterfly Net (per net) $25 $100    
Skimmer Net (per net) $25 $100    
Shrimp Gear Fee (one-time annually) $10 $40    
Senior Commercial License (residents 70 years and older - includes Commercial Fisherman and certain Gear Licenses ONLY) $20 N/A    
Hoop Net (any legal number) $25 $100    
Freshwater Fish Seine (any legal number) $25 $100    
Freshwater Trammel Net (any legal number) $25 $100    
Freshwater Gill Net (any legal number) $25 $100    
Freshwater Shrimp Net License $25 N/A    
Dip Net $25 $100    
Crab Trap (any legal number) $25 $100    
Crab Trap Gear Fee $10 $40    
Crab Drop Net $25 $100    
Slat Trap (any legal number) $25 $100    
Minnow Trap (any legal number) $25 $100    
Eel Pot (any legal number) $25 $100    
Cans, Buckets, Pipes, Drums (any legal number) $25 $100    
Cast Net $25 $100    
Set Lines (trot, bush, etc. - any legal number) $25 $100    
Flounder Gig (per gig) $25 $100    
Spear Gun (per spear gun) $25 $100    
Mullet Permit (captain only) $100 $400    
Mullet Strike Net (per net) $250 $1,000    
Freshwater Shad Seine $25 $100    
Shad Gill Net (Lac Des Allemands, Lake Palourde, Lake Verret) $25 $100    
Pompano Permit (captain only) No Fee No Fee    
Pompano Strike Net (per net) $250 $1,000    
Saltwater Rod & Reel (any legal number) $250 $1,000    
Shark Permit No Fee No Fee    
Spotted Seatrout Permit $100 $400    
Traversing Permit No Fee No Fee    
Purse/Menhaden Seine (per seine) $505 $2,020    
Crawfish Traps (any legal number) $25 $100    
Out-of-State Oyster Landing Permit $100 $100    
Special Bait Dealer Permit $110 N/A    
Wire Net (any legal number) $25 $100    
CHARTER LICENSE FEES
       
  Resident  Non-Resident    
Charter Boat Fishing Guide (up to 6 passengers) $250 $1,500    
Charter Boat Fishing Guide (more than 6 passengers) $500 $2,500    
Mothership License (carrying up to 6 skiffs) $1,000 $1,000    
Mothership License (carrying more than 6 skiffs) $2,000 $2,000    
Charter Skiff License (per skiff - 2 persons per skiff limit) $50 $50    
DEALER LICENSE FEES
       
  Resident Non-Resident 4-yearResident  4-year Non-Resident
Seafood Wholesale/Retail Dealer - Business $250 $1,105 $1,000 $4,420
Seafood Wholesale/Retail Dealer - Vehicle $250 $1,105 $1,000 $4,420
Seafood Retail Dealer - Business $105 $405 $420 $1,620
Seafood Retail Dealer - Vehicle $105 $405 $420 $1,620
Seafood Transport - Wholesale/Retail Dealer $30 $30 $120 $120
Seafood Transport - Retail Dealer $30 $30 $120 $120
Wholesale Out-of-State Crab Shipping $100 $100    
Retail Out-of-State Crab Shipping $100 $100    
Seafood Transport - Commercial Fisherman $30 $30    
Fresh Products (Commercial Fisherman License required) $20 $120    
Fresh Products - Spouse $5 N/A    
Domesticated Aquatic Organism License (fish farming) $15 $400    
Reptile & Amphibian Collector (under 16) $10 N/A    
Reptile & Amphibian Collector (16 years of age and older) $25 $200    
Reptile & Amphibian Wholesale/Retailer Dealer $105 $405    
Reptile & Amphibian Transport $30 $120    
Non-Resident Reptile & Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer (3-day) N/A $75    
Alligator Parts Dealer (expires June 30) $50 $50    
Alligator Parts Retailer (expires June 30) $5 $5    
Mussel Buyer's Permit $150 $600    
Oyster Cargo Vessel Permit $250 $1,105    
ADDITIONAL LICENSE FEES
       
Bow and Arrow Gear $25 $100    
Garfish Gig (per gig) $25 $100    
Non-game Quadruped - Exhibitor $10 $10    
Non-game Quadruped - Breeder $25 $25    
Game Breeder ($50 inspection fee to raise deer and birds of prey) $25 N/A    
Fur Buyer (expires June 30) $25 $100    
Fur Dealer ($500 deposit is required of residents and $1,000 for non-residents - expires June 30) $150 $300    
Resident Hunting Preserve (expires June 30) $200 N/A    

Bona Fide Resident:

1. Any person who has resided in this state continuously during the 12 months immediately prior to the date on which he applies for any license and who has manifested his intent to remain in this state by establishing Louisiana as his legal domicile, as demonstrated by compliance with all of the following, as applicable:

  • If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in Louisiana
  • If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in possession of a valid Louisiana drivers license
  • If owning a motor vehicle located within Louisiana, he is in possession of a valid Louisiana registration for that vehicle
  • If earning an income, he has filed a Louisiana state income tax return and has complied with state income tax laws and regulations.

2. As to a corporation or other legal entity, a resident shall be any which is incorportated or otherwise organized under, and subject to, the laws of Louisiana, and is domiciled in Louisiana and has a permanent physical location of business in Louisiana where records are held.

3. Any person, corporation or other legal entity which possesses a resident license from any state or country other than Louisiana shall not qualify for a resident hunting license in Louisiana.

Licenses

Recreational fishing and hunting licenses may be purchased online or by telephone using Visa or MasterCard. Call toll free 1-888-765-2602. An authorization number for immediate use will be provided and licenses will be mailed to the licensee.
A SERVICE FEE IS CHARGED.

Recreational Licenses that are purchased via mobile device- (Smart phone, Laptop, Tablet, etc.) will not receive a license in the mail.  You will receive a text with a temporary authorization number, and an e-mail with the temporary authorization number and a PDF of your licenses which can be saved and printed.  Any tags (Deer or Turkey)  included as part of your purchase will be mailed within 7 to 10 business days to the address provided during this purchase.

HIP CERTIFICATION All persons hunting migratory game birds (mourning doves, ducks, geese, woodcock, rails, snipe, coots or gallinules) in Louisiana must be HIP certified in addition to their appropriate licenses.

LIFETIME HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE are available only through the Baton Rouge Office. To expedite issuance make payment in the form of cash or money order. For additional information call (225)765-2887.

Duplicates: $2.00 per privilege - no duplicates are allowed for trip licenses

RECREATIONAL OFFSHORE LANDING PERMIT: The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) developed the Recreational Offshore Landings Permit Program(ROLP) to better quantify and characterize the charter and recreational fishermen that fish beyond Louisiana’s territorial waters.  The permit is available at no cost to the public by clicking here.

Hunter Education Requirements

No person born on or after Sept. 1, 1969, shall procure a hunting license of any kind, unless that person has been issued a certificate of satisfactorily completion of a Hunter Education course approved by LDWF.
  • EXCEPT a person who has not completed a hunter education course may be issued a license with the restriction that they are accompanied by, and under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older who has a valid hunting license or proof of successful completion of a hunter education course. 
  • EXCEPT a person younger than 16 years of age may hunt without such certificate if they are accompanied by, and under the direct supervision, of a person 18 years of age or older who has a valid hunting license or proof of successful completion of a hunter education course. “Direct Supervision” means that the person being supervised shall be within normal audible voice proximity and in direct line of sight of the supervising adult at all times while hunting. 
  • EXCEPT This requirement shall not apply to any active or veteran member of the United States armed services or any POST-certified law enforcement officer who may be issued a hunter education exemption. Application for this exemption may be filed at the LDWF office in Baton Rouge (225-765-2932) or any regional field office. 

For information on scheduling a hunter education course log on to www.wlf.louisiana.gov or call 225-765-2932.

Syndicate content